Skip to main content

Thierry Olivry

Thierry Olivry

Dr, Prof Thierry OLIVRY, Dip ECVD, Dip ACVD, PhD

After graduating from veterinary school in Toulouse (France) in 1984, Dr. Olivry became one of the managing partners of the Frégis specialty clinic in Paris. In 1991, he moved to the USA for a residency in dermatology and a PhD in comparative pathology at the University of California Davis. He became board-certified by both the ECVD in 1993 and ACVD in 1995. Dr. Olivry spent 28 years as a clinician-scientist in immunodermatology at the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine (NCSU, 1994-2022) and is now a Professor Emeritus at that institution. In November 2022, he became Head of Research & Development at Nextmune, a multinational animal health company headquartered in Stockholm, Sweden. In addition, he teaches dermatology to veterinary students at the Latvian University of Life Sciences & Technologies.

From 1999 to 2004, he was the Chair of the ACVD and then International Task Force on Canine Atopic Dermatitis, and from 2008 to 2009, President of the European College of Veterinary Dermatology.

Dr. Olivry has authored more than 360 articles and book chapters, and he has been invited all over the world to lecture to veterinary and medical audiences. For more than two decades, he has been researching the mechanism and treatment of atopic dermatitis, food allergy and itch in dogs; he also characterized multiple new autoimmune skin diseases in small and large animal species. He pioneered the use of evidence-based medicine in veterinary dermatology. More recently, he has expanded his interest onto veterinary molecular allergology.

For his contributions, Dr. Olivry has received several awards that include the “ACVD Award for Excellence for Outstanding Contributions to Science and Education” (2004), the “NCSU Clinician of the Year award” (2005), the “Pfizer Award for Research Excellence at NCSU” (2010), the “World Small Animal Veterinary Association Hill's Excellence in Veterinary Healthcare Award” (2013), and the “ECVD Lifetime Career Award” (2020). He has been made an honorary member of the Latin American and European Societies of Veterinary Dermatology. The Dermatology Unit of the veterinary hospital at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in Greece was named after him in 2003.